Low-Car Diet: Day Two.

The biggest struggle for me in all this won’t be the strenuous exercise or adding in the foods Dave recommends; it’s going to be making room in my schedule.
My dance card was full *before* I embarked on the Low-Car Diet — an hour and a half commute followed by dinners, Yelp events, catch-up drinks with friends, a relationship in there somewhere. All that added up to a lot of late nights that didn’t leave much room for the healthy stuff. (Healthy? What?)
Well, it’s adjustment time. And it will take some serious finagling (and learning how to say “no”), because while I like being busy…this is CRAZY. Yesterday evening was a mad dash through downtown Chicago: Pick up my Berry Chill Culture Club card from State Street, hit a prearranged appointment, coordinate my membership at Equinox on Michigan Avenue, grab some produce from Potash Bros. market to curb my mac and cheese craving. I didn’t get home until after 10! Hope my boyfriend likes dark circles.
The good news: It’s incredibly easy to get around; the rush hour buses were frequent and fast yesterday, getting me everywhere I needed to go. (The 125 Water Tower Express ROCKETED me to Grand and State from Ogilvie!) For once, the CTA served me well on a day I really needed its help!
Today, though? I’m a zombie, halfway dreading my first workout of the month at Equinox. But it’s Friday — I have time to rest up, nosh on some Berry Chill and enjoy a class this weekend before next week starts. I’ll be traveling for business through Tuesday and am looking forward to exploring Ithaca, N.Y., on foot and by bike and bus during my free time. No Berry Chill in the Finger Lakes, but I’ll manage!
Going forward? It’s time to grab the BlackBerry and spend a little quality time making my schedule work with this commitment. And after this month is over, I think the routine will feel so good I won’t want to stop.

Leave a Reply

