T Minus 30.

I have a few entries backlogged in my head right now. Maybe if I sneak a little inkling in here, I’ll actually write them? (Eh?)
I finished The Time Traveler’s Wife for the second time on Monday night, and my head is absolutely swimming with thoughts on love, time, aging and writing. (Oh, the crushing life parallels.)
In that vein, I went to a book reading last night in Andersonville: Audrey Niffenegger, who wrote the aforementioned book, read part of her new novel, Her Fearful Symmetry, at the Swedish American Museum, then answered questions from the audience afterward. After being mercilessly shot down before the event by one of the organizers, I rallied the gumption to raise my hand from the back of the room and ask a question of my own. (I’m braver in writing than I am in person, mostly, and who isn’t?) Then she signed my book. Cue fan-girling.
Anyway, two things to write. They’re both going to take a bit of work to get down, and I can’t write anything when my neck feels like it’s made of iron. Or when I’m this slammed at work. (Though when has that ever stopped me from blogging?)

Instead? A short post to help me celebrate Keep Me Honest Day — look it up! It’s real! This afternoon, I signed up for NaNoWriMo.

For the uninitiated, that stands for National Novel Writing Month.
It’s in November.
As of right now, I have no plans for dinners or a social life, and if I have any say in the matter — which, wait, I do — I’m going to keep it that way. I will spend the month parsing my old blogs and generating new material to string it together…and this novel of mine shall be cobbled together, however shoddily.
…So I say.

What will BECOME of our heroine? Will she reach 50,000 words? Can she detox physically, recover financially, overcome writer’s block and keep her boyfriend through the process? Will she be able to spell NaNoWriMo on the first try before the end of the month?
Stay tuned… Same blog time, same blog place!

Tags:

9 Responses to “T Minus 30.”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I can't wait to find out the answers to ALL these questions AND get my autographed first edition! And I will provide moral and material support. I'm excited for you and about you. JLM

  2. L'IDIOT Says:

    Although I am a terrible artist, maybe I can somehow do the cover art?

  3. Novel Nymph Says:

    I am doing NaNo as well for the 4th time. Good luck and the answer is? Our heroine will prevail…Novel

  4. bwh Says:

    Of course she'll prevail!Really, the hard part of NaNo is the first ten words. Once you've started, there's no stopping. (This will be my seventh time through; I claim some authority in these matters.)

  5. paige worthy Says:

    Is it kosher to start from the middle?

  6. bwh Says:

    Absolutely. Middle, last scene – anywhere and any order. If anything, writing that scene you see most clearly is the easiest way to get things rolling. (E.g.: one year, I started with Chapter 4 and wrote my way back to the beginning, then slung-shot back to the middle.)

  7. paige worthy Says:

    It almost feels like cheating because I'm basically writing my life and adding in a bit more trajectory… No shortage of plot there, so I feel like I won't struggle as much.Wanna be…friends?http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/512226

  8. bwh Says:

    Nah, you're fine. s'what I did, the first year. Well, sort of; I gave it a glossy fictional sheen first, but … write what you know, y'know?(Friends? Done and done.)

  9. birdykins Says:

    I signed up for NaNoWriMo but I haven't got an email yet… did it take awhile for you? You inspired me to sign up this year. Eek. Moral support.

Leave a Reply

