A breather.

I wonder if anyone will stop by my blog after finding my Facebook dead and gone.
If so, hello. Please know that I have not killed myself or been committed, nor has any other tragedy befallen me.

It never seemed possible, but I actually got fed up enough with Facebook to deactivate my account.
Not permanently delete — I actually might need to be committed if I got rid of five years’ worth of photos, connections and “capital-F friendship,” as the Knight calls it.

I was fed up with the privacy issues and breaches of trust on Facebook’s part.
I think Mark Zuckerberg is a slimeball.
I was fed up with friends who mass broadcast their tragicomic life events and let their drama unfold in public comment after public comment — but can’t be bothered to respond to the genuine concerns of a friend in a private message.
I was fed up with the data-mining apps, the Farmville, the Mafia Wars, the “book clubs,” the friend surveys that I filled out on my LiveJournal long before I got a Facebook account.
I was fed up with people assuming they knew me inside and out, fed up with my complex emotions being boiled down to simple generalizations by Friends with the attention span of a flea. Ten status messages a day does not a life’s story make. (Unless you’re one of those mass-broadcast Friends, I guess.)
And, most importantly, I was fed up with my own obsessive monitoring, lack of real communication and total inability to focus on the rest of my life. Facebook has turned me into a scatterbrained idiot.

So.
Yes, I’m still alive. But I’m not living my life on Facebook anymore. For the time being.
Want proof?

Look, this was taken yesterday:

Garfield Park Conservatory
Serene. Outdoors. Wearing impossibly large hoop earrings. That’s me. Stepping back from my white-text-box life to enjoy the sunshine and in-the-flesh company of my Knight in Shining Camry. We just celebrated our first anniversary, and I’m happy to say I marked the date with kisses and a trip to the Garfield Park Conservatory — and not a sweet status message.

Tags: ,

15 Responses to “A breather.”

  1. Geoffrey Says:

    *holds breath til Paige returns . . won't be long, she's a social media addict*

  2. KLZ Says:

    I've stopped checking mostly but don't have the guts to delete…good for you.

  3. Mr. Apron Says:

    Welcome back to your life, P.W. Good for you. Very, very badass.

  4. Angela Says:

    You are gorgeous.

  5. rebar Says:

    I've been itching over the past week or so to pull the same trigger. I feel like FB and it's lack of care for it's customer/users is borderline offensive, much less the frontal assault on any kind of privacy measures you try to take.Maybe I will ball up and follow your good example. I'm really getting tired of Z's bullshit. Will keep tabs on you here, girly.Fight the power.

  6. LisaMG Says:

    Hooray, flesh and sunshine!

  7. sircaliban Says:

    Good for you 🙂 It's springtime.. I hope you enjoy.

  8. Genevra Says:

    I love your section on "obsessive monitoring" – I struggle with the same thing. I feel like a hungry ghost with Facebook, and I find your decision to step away really inspiring yet simple. Sort of an obvious ah ha. But an ah ha just the same. Also glad to have found your blog despite your departure. 😉

  9. Hannah Miet Says:

    Beautiful. I commiserate.

  10. Anonymous Says:

    "I'll miss you most of all, Rage Monkey."

  11. Leslie Kirk Says:

    The bf's company recently fired someone for something they said on their "private" FB page – a friend of a friend took a screen shot and ratted him out…or something. I gotta say, it was the most ridiculous thing I had heard in a while. I've had ppl get…frustrated?…that I never go on FB anymore, but whatever. IT'S SO PRETTY OUTSIDE!

  12. Kit B Says:

    You are a fantastic writer. I will miss your puns and clever quips about daily life. Alas, I will have to learn to live without the witty and hartfelt repartee of PW. Truth: with this move, you're smarter than the rest of us. 🙂

  13. Unity Says:

    Okay, I just had a moment of panic because i was like "where is Paige?!??!?!?" I miss ya on FB, but totally understand & affirm your stance. I will miss you while you are gone from FB…but glad I can check your blog to appreciate your writing & check in on ya.

  14. wanderingmenace Says:

    Well as a first-time reader of your blog, I have to say-I'm impressed! Good move. I keep wondering how Facebook has kept our interest as long as it has. Between twitter and blogging and whatever else, FB feels like an older-more intrusive site lurking with fake friends and stalkers. I say enjoy the sunshine!

  15. B. Says:

    I deactivate allll theeee time! Esp when I get fed up with technology and overwhelmed by people texting, bbm'ing, fb chatting me all the time. And those farmville updates? Shoot. Me. In. The. Face. NOW.Goog job, girl! And funny blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

