Listen to me read!

Tired of just stalking me online?
Guess what!
Now you can come watch me in person!

I’m doing a reading this Saturday, Dec. 4 at Ricochet’s Tavern in Lincoln Square. It starts at 3 p.m.
The event is called The Paper Machete, a salon in a saloon.
It’s kind of a…live magazine. Very smart, very funny, very talented-in-general Chicago writers and performers talk about relevant things in a clever way. And I’ll be there, too. Goin’ on about science.
Because I worked for a horticultural magazine, and apparently knowing a lot of Latin botanical names and the basic workings of greenhouse production qualifies me to talk like an egghead in front of a bunch of strangers.

Oh, God.

So.
Come see how much better I look in photographs than in person. Come feel short, because I’m always much taller than everyone thinks. Come see me make a lot of other performers look great on stage. Come drink beer — they have Stella. I’ll even let you buy me some.

Here’s an event listing on Facebook! Let me know if you’ll be there. And don’t be a stranger, dammit.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Listen to me read!”

  1. Adrienne Says:

    remember when i did a speaking thing i wasn’t qualified for?
    yeah.
    you’re a lot more qualified than me ;).

  2. Brian Says:

    Stella??? They have Stella?? I totally have to work, otherwise I’d be there…but I still feel I should buy you a drink…can I paypal you??

  3. Viaggiatore Says:

    oh, how I wish I was in Chicago this weekend rather than facilitating a gig in the Tundra! I am DYING to see this!! If you’re stumped for ideas, there’s always the go-to riff on asexual reproduction: tissue culture, budding and grafting of fruit trees … because regardless of context, everyone loves sipping Stella and listening to a long-legged woman in heels purring the word “sexual” at them, just mumble the ‘a’ part.

  4. Tweets that mention Listen to me read! -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Paige Worthy, The Paper Machete. The Paper Machete said: RT @paigeworthy: If one blog post wasn't enough for you today, check out THIS mothafucka: http://bit.ly/dF6ZLV (HEY @thepapermachete!) […]

  5. A drug problem. Says:

    […] all right. Because the lovely Chris Piatt invited me to come back today and read my piece. Same topic, same bat time, same bat place. I had a wonderful time and, best of all, didn’t vomit on anyone. Overall, I’d say the […]

Leave a Reply

