Reverb 10: Letting go, three months later.

On the last day of November, I signed up to participate in #reverb10, a month-long challenge to blog every day of December based on prompts provided here. Here’s hoping it keeps me honest.

Today’s prompt:
December 5 Let go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?
(Author: Alice Bradley)

I let go of the monkey bars. (If you’re new here, click that! It’s a link! Today, it could also be seen as something of a cop-out!)

The Cliff’s Notes: I quit my full-time job, gave up my health insurance and paid vacation, the regular paychecks and 401K, my two-and-a-half-hour daily commute, the frustration of working for people with no interest in caring for their employees, and the general self-loathing that went with doing a job my heart was no longer in.
An opportunity to work for myself, be on my own, presented itself. And I jumped at it.
It wasn’t a popular decision with my family — a situation not altogether unfamiliar to me at this point — and I knew it wouldn’t be easy in a lot of ways.

But I did it because 27 years old is too young not to take a chance that might end in failure. It’s too young to choose security over freedom.
I did it because 27 is too old to still be worried about what’s expected of you.
I did it because despite the tough sell to my family, there are many, many safety nets, security blankets and downy-soft support systems lined up to catch me if I do lose my grip.
And I did it because, contrary to all the news stories written in the past year about foolish, spoiled, naïve Gen Yers, it’s never foolish, spoiled nor naïve to expect — no, demand — that a job be challenging, fulfilling and rewarding.

Three months later?
I’ve left the monkey bars and hit the playground running. The twisty slide and the tire swing and the merry-go-round are all at my disposal, and I’m just getting started.

It hasn’t been easy, just as I expected.
I’m getting by on a bit less money than before. I’m paying through the nose for my health insurance (that’s a link, too). I’m beating back the occasional attacks of crippling loneliness.

But I’m also embracing my freedom. I’ve been running up a storm; I’m getting back in shape. I spend my work days at Starbucks. I go to therapy in the middle of the afternoon.
I love the people I’m working with, even though I rarely see them in person and we’re scattered all across the country. I’m finding out I’m a pretty decent salesgirl.
I’m starting to blog more; I’m proud of more of it. I’ve signed up for an eight-week writing course.

Challenging.
Fulfilling.
Rewarding.

Here’s to letting go of the monkey bars and reaching forward to what’s next.

Tags: , , , ,

19 Responses to “Reverb 10: Letting go, three months later.”

  1. Laura Scholz Says:

    There’s nothing more freeing than letting go of the monkey bars and knowing and demanding what you want out of life. Congrats on three months of freelancing bliss!

  2. Crysta Says:

    I love the analogy, Paige, and I loved your Monkey Bars post even more now reading it in the #reverb10 context. Here’s to conquering even more playground equipment!

  3. Paige Says:

    @Crysta – Last one to the sandbox is a rotten egg!

  4. Dana Seidel Says:

    You are great Paige, and such an encouragement to the woman in me that is just a little bit terrified by all my dreams. 🙂

  5. Isabel Says:

    You’re my hero. ‘Nuff said.

  6. Tweets that mention Reverb 10: Letting go, three months later. -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Paige Worthy, memydogsmylife. memydogsmylife said: She let go of the monkey bars – whoo hoo! RT @paigeworthy #reverb10 for Dec. 5, LET GO: http://bit.ly/ejpGwF #reverb10crew […]

  7. Jessica Malnik Says:

    Wow for starters, I am so glad I came across this post in the #reverb10 stream. The monkey bars analogy is brilliant. Congrats on following your dream, and living and working the life that you deserve to live. The perfect family with two cute kids, a dog and a white picket fence isn’t for everyone.

    Great post, Paige! I’ll definitely be reading your blog often.

  8. Tweets that mention Reverb 10: Letting go, three months later. -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andre Willis, Jessica Malnik. Jessica Malnik said: Great #reverb10 post by @paigeworthy! "Letting go, three months later." http://bit.ly/gd8eIx #u30pro […]

  9. Laura Kimball Says:

    Love the imagery of the monkey bars and the playground. Absolutely brilliant and great writing, Paige.

    “And I did it because, contrary to all the news stories written in the past year about foolish, spoiled, naïve Gen Yers, it’s never foolish, spoiled nor naïve to expect — no, demand — that a job be challenging, fulfilling and rewarding.”

    Well said. And thank god #reverb10 led me to your blog, look forward to reading more!

  10. Philip L Says:

    Thanks for the update Paige… I had been wondering how things were going since reading your first piece on the subject.
    As I told you at the time the monkey bars and I have been separated for a long time. There have been some very good times and a few bad ones. The recession is not making it easy right now.
    In all these years I have never once woken up in the morning and thought ‘I wish a had a nice secure job’ This is true freedom (or it would be if someone hadn’t invented the IRS) and there is no going back for me.
    Keep doing what you are doing and please keep telling us about it.

  11. Matt Cheuvront Says:

    Your writing is intoxicating. But you already knew that. Having been around you when all this was going down, sharing noodle bowls and talking about a better life, I couldn’t be happier for you. We’re both so much better off than we were a year ago, even a few months ago. Keep rockin’ it, Paige.

  12. Brian Says:

    I’ve been trying to live by the mantra ” leap and the net will appear”… The hardest part, as you know is the leaping(letting go if you will) because you’re(I’m) not always sure the net WILL appear, but it always does…

  13. Katie Says:

    Love this post….I connect with it in so many ways: the work atmosphere, the family and their raised eyebrows.

    My favorite line~”But I did it because 27 years old is too young not to take a chance that might end in failure”

    You’re damn right girl. Keep on keeping on.

  14. Paige Says:

    @Katie – Thanks, miss!! Nice to see you here 😀

  15. Reverb 10: An executive decision. Says:

    […] you’re just joining me here at paige worthy dot com, hello. Now you can go read the response I already wrote to this prompt, without even realizing I […]

  16. Cali @caligater Says:

    i’m in total heart with you.

    there. i said it.

  17. Abby Says:

    Wow–such courage!
    I too am in an unfulfilling job situation. I am so very thankful to have it right now, that I’m not wanting to quit, but I can feel the itch that God’s saying to me, you can do so much better!
    Good luck dear!

  18. Shelly Says:

    That is a lit to give up – but also a LOT to gain!! Here’s hoping the new year brings even more for you!!

Leave a Reply

