Reverb 10: Only five minutes?

On the last day of November, I signed up to participate in #reverb10, a month-long challenge to blog every day of December based on prompts provided here. Here’s hoping it keeps me honest. I’ve dropped the ball recently, but I’m forgiving myself. Life steps in sometimes and demands attention. Anyway.

Today’s prompt:
December 15 5 Minutes.
Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010.
(Author: Patti Digh)

Two things before I start:

  • One, Patti Digh is a genius. I love her. She’s where the monkey bars thing came from.
  • Two, this is a damned disaster. Give me five minutes, and I’ll give you some e.e. cummings, scattered, half-to-poetic but mostly just ludicrous crap. So.

Five minutes.
It would take longer than that just to get through the bad stuff.
I’ll try.
We played Apples to Apples on New Year’s.
Kissed at midnight, played the guitar. Then spent the next day in our pajamas.
The trouble started when we moved in together.
But there were moments.
I have grainy pictures of me in my purple hat, holding up some stupid tchotchke in the furniture store.
Buying our bed together.
Picking out drawer pulls at Anthropologie.
We were planning a life together.
Out of order: That first night, dragging my chair down a flight of stairs and spending 20 minutes jamming it back through the new door. Blogging in the cold and dark, feeling like I was embarking on my next big thing.
Which I guess it was.

The panic attack over how short the curtains were, that was a big thing.
The little bruises peppering my upper thighs because there was never enough room to get past the bed without bumping it in the night.

Then one day, I left. Took my bruises with me.

The summer of social media, the summer of indecision and heartbreak, more heartbreak. His, again, and a trail of rebounds who I still love dearly for beautiful little things.
My now-friends, which isn’t a euphemism.
Then one day, I let go of the monkey bars.
And everything was scary and free and mostly just scary, but I did it anyway.

There aren’t a lot of vegetables in my life now.
But I have friends. Lots of friends and lots of time.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Reverb 10: Only five minutes?”

  1. Brian D. Says:

    five minutes hardly seems like enough time, but after reading this, it seems like JUST enough time…

  2. Dr. Dolly (@drdolly) Says:

    You handled that challenge with a gauntlet. I love the line: “The little bruises peppering my upper thighs because there was never enough room to get past the bed without bumping it in the night.”
    What a journey through 2010…in 5.

  3. Tweets that mention Reverb 10: Only five minutes? -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Paige Worthy, #reverb10. #reverb10 said: RT @paigeworthy: BLOG: When I have only five minutes for a year's worth of memories. #reverb10 http://bit.ly/gy9WUT (@pattidigh, this is … […]

  4. Robyn Says:

    That was great. You just inspired me to set my alarm and write some sort of stream-of-memories thingie. Good to meet your blog too!

  5. anja Says:

    i really, really like this. it`s like a poem, bittersweet. thank you.

  6. Crysta Says:

    I was completely daunted by the 5 minute prompt, thinking stream-of-consciousness short thoughts. (I still haven’t set my timer and committed it to virtual paper.) You make it look easy, eloquent and a just-right depiction of a tough year.

    Imagine if you’d had 10 minutes.

  7. writemuch Says:

    brave you. glad you let go. I love patti too.

  8. Madeleine Says:

    Yes, love it. This really inspires me to get going on mine, thank you.

  9. Victoria Says:

    That was beautiful and heartrending and far more transparent than my “5 Minutes” poem is going to be 😀

    Wishing you a world of joyful, new opportunities in 2011.

  10. Abby Says:

    This is lovely, and funny. And AH, I FEEL YOU on the veggies and friends thing! Got to stop beating myself up about that. Instead, I need to call it a “Hallelujah Problem” like my mom says. 🙂

  11. Lauren Says:

    Oh how I love the drawer knobs at Anthropologie (:

  12. wafelenbak Says:

    I, too, feel inspired by this. And while I haven’t done any of Reverb, this is irresistably tempting.

  13. In 5 « Wafelenbak! Says:

    […] This summary of my year was written in exactly 5 minutes.  I stole the idea from another blogger here. […]

Leave a Reply

