Reverb 10: Gift.

On the last day of November, I signed up to participate in #reverb10, a month-long challenge to blog every day of December based on prompts provided here.

Today’s prompt:
December 25 Photo: a present to yourself.
Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.
(Author: Tracey Clark)

The Knight took this photo.
It was February 28, a day warm enough to start melting the asphalt-tainted snow on the ground. Warm enough for me to wear just a warm hat and my puffy vest. And for him, a black jacket and the Thor tee he loves. He’s a superhero kind of guy.

The sun came out that day, after what was apparently a miserable, grey month.
We’d been living together for less than two weeks.
I’m not sure whether I’d hyperventilated yet.

Either way, it didn’t matter. We found ourselves in Boystown that afternoon. I think we’d eaten brunch at Uncommon Ground, and I happened to have my camera with me: Maybe I didn’t have the energy then to capture magic with just my heart and mind; maybe I needed a shutter and a lens.

We handed the camera back and forth. Some of my favorite pictures of him, I took that day.

What strikes me about this photo: that look on my face.
It was the look of complete and utter adoration.
The we’ll make it work, if only we try just a little harder look.
We have all we need here in our hearts, in our beautiful new apartment. Two against the world.
It’s a look he knew well, though he saw it less and less as time passed, as winter turned to spring and the strains of life pulled us farther apart.

I remember being happy that day. And hopeful. And calm.
Those actually are feelings I know well, though I experienced them less and less as time passed, as winter turned to spring.
Storms wash these feelings away.

Despite the maelstrom that I used to define my existence in 2010, it’s those rare moments of quietude and peace, the feelings of happiness and hope and love, that I’ll hold on to as I pass into a new year of new challenges, as new fronts drift onto my life’s radar.

River.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Reverb 10: Gift.”

  1. J Says:

    Although hard to read, and I’m sure harder to write, its a beautiful reflection and solid acknowledgement of better things to come.

  2. Cali @caligater Says:

    Beautiful photo. Beautiful description.

  3. Tweets that mention BLOG: a little #reverb10 to wrap up Christmas…feeling bittersweet tonight. -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by traceyclark, Paige Worthy. Paige Worthy said: BLOG: a little #reverb10 to wrap up Christmas…feeling bittersweet tonight. http://bit.ly/h8Qgbj […]

Leave a Reply

