That's the thing.

I wake up every morning to a “note from the universe,” written by a guy who thinks everyone deserves a daily reminder of their power and how much they’re loved. (You should subscribe, by the way.)
I read today’s —

 

All that you need to have all that you want, Paige, will be provided, as if by magic, once you know what you want and do something about it every day.

 

— and thought, yeah.
That’s the thing, isn’t it? Figuring out what you want.

Maybe tomorrow.

14 Responses to “That's the thing.”

  1. Sean D. Francis Says:

    When I read something like this I’m reminded of a line, I wish I could remember where it was from, “How do I know what I want until I get it and see if I actually want it?”

    I usually stand in awe of those people who just know what they want. Those who wake up each day and have such a clear vision, clear sense of their priorities.  I know I’m afraid that taking on choice closes the door to other, better options.  Of course that leads to paralysis.  There are no simple answers yet everyone seems to have platitudes to feed to those who stand at crossroads trying to figure out which path to follow.

    • paigeworthy Says:

      I don’t even have the crossroads. I feel like I’m standing in the middle of
      a big parking lot and even the little yellow lines are all faded out.

      • Sean D. Francis Says:

        Yeah, so platitudes and ‘the easy answers’ are even more meaningless to you since there isn’t even a structure to apply them to.  Kind of hard to ‘take the road less traveled’ when there isn’t even a road.  Follow your heart, follow your gut, follow your first instinct all fail when you don’t even know what the options are.

        I wish I had answers for you, but whatever I offered wouldn’t help.  When you have a flight of fancy and imagine what you want your life to be like (driving a semitruck across the country?) what do you see? What kind of career? What kind of relationship? What kind of life are you living? What brings you joy?  Yeah, sorry, no answers, just a whole bunch more questions.

      • paigeworthy Says:

        I can only hope that if I can quiet my mind just a little, the silence will
        just coax out some of the answers.

  2. megan Says:

    Oh Paige, you and me girl. Waiting to find the beginning of an idea of maybe possibly something I could do for the rest of my life, or for a little while at least. 

  3. Guest Says:

    I think there’s great truth in that. That you have to know what you want before you can take steps to reach your goals.  If you feel like your not where you should be or going in the right direction, perhaps it’s time to get a different perspective.

  4. Sean Day Says:

    Seems like such a simple question, doesn’t it. It is not. 

  5. Storm. Katrina Storm. Says:

    It always seems so much easier said than done.  There’s a lot of truth in your quote… but figuring it out is never as easy as people make it seem.

  6. Lisa Murtaugh Gangi Says:

    Nice.  But no, not simple.  And it’s a moving target, too.

  7. guest Says:

    ew. gross.

  8. Gia Ghani Says:

    Gah, that is the thing. sigh. But a beautiful reminder nonetheless.

  9. Shelly Says:

    That is definitely the thing! And i sooooooooooo envy thenpeople that know the answer to that question…. 🙂

  10. Torre DeRoche Says:

    I agree. Figuring out what you want is the tricky part. My problem is: I want it all simultaneously. Up, down, black, white, home, travel, desert, steak.

Leave a Reply

