A post where I promise to post.

Nerd alert!

I spent the weekend at WordCamp Chicago, an event for WordPress bloggers and developers — mostly, people much more tech-savvy than me. I won’t say smarter, because…well, I won’t. I was there, and I won’t say that. (I also won’t say “more tech-savvy than I,” because it sounds horrifically stuck-up, and there just are some things that may be correct but will never seem right.)

Ladies at WordCamp Chicago: Alexis Finch, me and Nicole Yeary (Photo by Kurt Scholle)

I came home just buzzing with inspiration for the great things I’m going to do with my website, which is built on WordPress — fancier menus! CSS! custom sidebars! pretty, dammit! — then plopped down on the sofa, stared at my admin dashboard and just wanted to cry. Because for all the fantastic ideas I came away with this weekend, I’m actually nowhere near the proficiency I need to do anything with them. (Instant gratification, meh.)

So, knowing my DVR-operation skills were still more than up to snuff, I made a quick dinner and turned on Pretty Woman. Presented with limited commercial interruptions by TBS and some really great advertiser whose commercials I fast-forwarded through. (Instant gratification, yay!)

 

But as I sat there watching Julia Roberts do her “hooker with a heart of gold” thing, all bubbly and glorious, with her blindingly white teeth and cascading red hair, I kept getting distracted thinking how neat my summer has been. Neat. So I paused the movie and pondered with my cat instead.

There are so many things I’ve done, so many people I’ve spent time with that I don’t even know how to include here because they dovetail nicely with my bittersweet narrative about life and love, or impart some wisdom I’ve gather from the little moments in my days.

See also: WEIRD. (With Lisa, on one of the aforementioned random weeknights)

I haven’t written about all the great meals, the wild weekends, the random weeknights spent catching up with friends, the man I dated for a few short weeks before I (yet again) flipped out and decided I wasn’t ready for…whatever. I don’t write about the networking events, the crossword puzzles, the commutes downtown spent staring out the windows or waving at babies.

Actually, I’m not sure what people who read this blog and only this blog could possibly think of me. People who don’t know me in person, aren’t friends with me on Facebook and don’t follow me on Twitter. Contrary to what makes it to this site, my life is not pure melodrama in 800-word bursts.

And I don’t write about all that other stuff in part because it doesn’t fit in with the “aesthetic,” but I also don’t write about it because I just don’t have the energy to pour my heart into every little thing in the way I do my other writing.

But that needs to change. I need to take the time to talk about the things I do, the communities I’m involved in, the kickin’ people I meet. I want to get back to documenting the crazy meals I eat — because writing about them might distract people from the food baby. I can’t keep all this goodness to myself! (Also, I’m getting a little sick of writing about boys, especially when I can’t write awful things about OKCupid dates because they can all find me here! Because I was an idiot when I signed up for my account and used my real name! Exclamation marks!)

Even if I can’t make the menus fancier or change my sidebars up right away, I can work on adding content that makes me happy and that y’all might want to read.

Does this mean my blog is jumping the shark? No.
Will you still read? I don’t know.
Do I care either way? Umm, yes.

But I’m going to do it anyway. Because I’m in love with my life, and I don’t care who knows it! I’m king of the world! I have KLOUT! (Also, because I’m more than a little weird and can’t contain it for much longer.)

Pretty Woman can wait, but this can’t.

 

So…democracy! Please help me choose who (whom would be correct, but…I’ll come full circle and say that’s just ridiculous) to write about first:

  • Mario, a CTA employee at my Brown Line stop who makes my day, without fail
  • Jill Salzman, an all-around rock star and my professional crush, who I finally met at the SPARK Women half-day conference last week
  • Esteban, a server at Lady Gregory’s whose shenanigans helped me forget I was feeling ill from overstuffing myself until I finished dessert

And because I want you to know the real me?
Here’s a video of a live-action Pac-Man terrorizing people in public places.

21 Responses to “A post where I promise to post.”

  1. Brian D. Says:

    jump the shark??  stop reading?? haha….you’re so crazy….

  2. Tom Rubin Says:

    As long as you are still writing, I will still be reading ❤

    Let's hear about Jill!

  3. John Marx Says:

    I say Esteban!   and I’ll read your blog no matter what because you are real and funny and your technology skills make me jealous!

  4. Purple Panda Says:

    i totally offered to spruce up your blog awhile ago. I am not smart, but I am tech savvy. 😉 haha. Anyway, I need to do more of this too. The writing. The sharing my amazingly weird, surreal life in the “slums”/ghetto. I have so many big ideas.. I mean who blogs in the slums?? It’s a good angle for sure.. I liked you ever since 20sb. Of course I don’t really know you and we “almost” met once when you were in Portland but I love your writing and think of you as a character, like Chelsea Handler or something, with a cool memoir.

  5. MHA Says:

    I wanna hear about Mario!

  6. Guest Says:

    I vote for Jill.

    Of course I still will read!

  7. Amy de la Fuente Says:

    If you have a story inside to tell, get it out. Readers will still keep reading. 

  8. Krista Says:

    WOW! You have A LOT of Klout. Just checked it out. Rock on.

    I vote for MARIO!

  9. NicoleYeary Says:

    I have been waiting all day to read this!  =)   I love the way your write, but you knew that… I would would like to write more on my blog,..but don’t be so hard on yourself. Twitter has replaced much of that—- I’ve certainly tweeted more.  Second, searching for a creative commons image/s is often the culprit for derailing any motivated to write moment.  You know this to be true  when I have more drafts than posts 😉  

    ps. If there is anything I can help with when you are amidst ‘sideward’ menus, LMK.  Thanks for saying hi before the prezo –took the edge off my 2  yr speaking drought.

    I vote for Jill – she’s done a lot for our community, and she deserves a shout-out!  oh & Happy Tuesday!

    • paigeworthy Says:

      Thank you so much, Nicole! And you’re right, @foundingmom:twitter DOES deserve a shout-out and will be the first person I write about in the “My New Favorite Person” series.

  10. DOGZMrGray Says:

    I think you should write about Mario. He and his cool brother Luigi would make a great story!!

  11. PamMktgNut Says:

    Awesome post. The steps you are taking are steps of empowerment, confidence and inspiration.

    Keep on goin’ sistah! You will inspire many others to do the same. 

    I can remember hitting this same chapter in my life and blogging. At one point I finally said “they either like me or they don’t.” It’s so much easier when you decide to be confident in who you are and share who you are with whoever is interested. Heck, if they’re not interested they won’t read it anyway. 

    • paigeworthy Says:

      Thanks so much, Pam, for the vote of confidence. I feel like things are really starting to happen!

      And yeah — I need to worry less about what others will think and keep doing what I love. It comes across and rubs off on people, I think.

  12. Nadiaharper Says:

    Gr8 Post and Thanks 2 @PamMktgNut:disqus  who RT your blog which is lovely. I vote for Mario. Thanks V Much for sharing.

  13. BW Brooks Says:

    I vote for Esteban!
    Also, exclamation marks!!

    And! I! think that you define your aesthetic, and your blog (and your readership) will manage to cope.  After all:  KLOUT!!!

Leave a Reply

