Tiny towers, Xavier and a plea to read my writing elsewhere.

Yeah, I redesigned my website and immediately started writing…for someone else. On a different site.
What of it?

Guys, life. It’s kind of a lot to contend with lately.
Between looking for full-time work (monkey bars be damned), beginning training for a 200-mile bike ride, keeping up with client writing in a feeble attempt not to get evicted, building an epic skyscraper in Tiny Tower, and trying not to kill my cat, who has time for all that other writing?

I want to write about my job search and why I’m returning to 9-to-5. (Spoiler alert: It’s not entirely financially motivated, though I’d be lying if I denied that entirely…) I want to tell you about watching The Shawshank Redemption for the first time. I want to dissect a book I’m reading called Shanghai Girls.
I want to rant about the know-nothing, sagging, sad sacks of pasty white flesh currently passing for Republican presidential hopefuls.

But instead, I’m going to send you to someone else’s website.
tlt_Icon_sq_whI started writing this month for a fantastic stuff-to-do-in-Chicago site called The Local Tourist, which was created by Theresa Carter, a lovely lady I’m proud to call a friend. Somehow I wound up volunteering to write about theater, which was great until I realized I don’t know the first thing about it. (Apparently, dating a theater student of dubious sexual orientation — who changed his middle name to Xavier somewhere along the line and is now married to a woman, so I guess…well… — for two years in college does not automatically qualify you to write about all things thespian.)
But I’m having fun with it. Especially because I’ve gotten to see two shows so far for free. Which is amazing, considering every trip to Starbucks puts my credit score in jeopardy.
So.
Some links:
My introduction: Doing it wrong.
Come Fly Away: Sinatra gets down and dirty!
The Trocks: Dude looks like a lady.

Click the links. Subscribe to my posts. Leave flaming anonymous comments about how horrid I am. (You know you want to.)
Tell me what’s going on with you. Please. You can even try out my fancy new contact page!

Tags:

3 Responses to “Tiny towers, Xavier and a plea to read my writing elsewhere.”

  1. Brian W Perry Says:

    You’re horrid. Lovingly yours, Anonymous

  2. Amy de la Fuente Says:

    Don’t feel like you have to apologize. Life today is not an easy little predictable and dependable  package you pick up and install. You are a great example of someone who will always roll with the punches, trail blaze new paths for those just thinking about change and survive in the process. To get old school on you, I have to say, “You go, Girl!” and we also need to have lunch soon!

Leave a Reply

