Get the foods like Jagger! Be the first to try Nellcôte.

The Rolling Stones recorded most of Exile on Main Street in a villa in the south of France called Nellcôte.

The original Nellcote

Cocaine and vomit at the first Nellcote…

Crazy shit went down at Nellcôte. It’s rumored that Nazis occupied it and tortured locals in the basement. Apparently, while the Stones were recording Exile, there was a pretty wild house party there one night. (John Lennon puked all over the floor and blamed it on the Methadone.) There were…drugs.

Hell, I don’t know where I’m going with this. I can’t talk about this kind of lifestyle. My idea of a great night is a Redbox rental and deep-dish delivery. With my cat.

But for those who can hang, there’s a new Nellcôte coming closer to home — and the Chicago version will skip the cocaine-and-vomit excess for a more classic version of luxury and opulence.

Interior of Nellcote

Much nicer at the West Loop Nellcote.

Created by Element Hospitality Group, which is also behind Chicago’s Old Town Social and RM Champagne Salon, with a menu created by Executive Chef Jared Van Camp, this West Loop night spot is going to be so…damn…rock ‘n’ roll. Here’s what their publicist told me:

The concept is meant to capture this particular cultural zeitgeist, where the young Rolling Stones partied and dined in Villa Nellcôte with the who’s who of early 70s Bohemia—a veritable checklist of rock ‘n’ royalty including artists, style icons, deviants, socialites and creative misfits.

(Veritably. I’m convinced pretty much everywhere in Chicago is too cool for me.)

And I got invited to preview it, before anyone else in the city, on Tuesday night, Feb. 28.

A first look at the white marble, wrought-iron gates, crystal chandeliers and Parisian herringbone wood floors!
Tray-passed previews of Van Camp’s “obsessively house made” menu items!
Hosted specialty cocktails!
WINE!

And then…my heart broke into tiny rock ‘n’ roll pieces. Because I realized I’ll be out of town. In San Antonio. For work.
Man. Some timing I’ve got with this full-time job nonsense!

Van Camp has his own FLOUR MILL, for God’s sake!
Sigh. But you — you can go. Because in addition to my invitation, I was also offered some tickets to give to people I love. (That’s you!)
I’ve got three pairs of tickets burning a hole in my pocket, and I want you to be my proxy at this amazing shindig. If I can’t be there myself, I want as many people I know there to tell me all about it when I get home.

So, wanna go get your rocks off? (Ew.)

Just three things to be eligible — and seriously, you’ve got a pretty good chance, because not many people read this dumb blog:

  1. Make sure you’re free on Tuesday night, for God’s sake. If I pick you and then you flake out, I will be angry.
  2. Leave a comment here with the Stones lyric (from any album) that best describes your feelings about this event.
  3. Tweet this to your adoring followers (or post it to Facebook and tag me): “Call me the tumblin’ dice! I wanna be @paigeworthy‘s proxy for @nellcote833’s VIP preview party! You can enter too: http://bit.ly/pw-nellcote”

 

Do this before Saturday night. I’ll choose a winner randomly on Sunday morning from deep in the Heart of Texas — and if you’re one of the lucky few, I’ll get your and your guest’s names on the list at the door on Tuesday night.

Best of luck, and may the good Lord shine a light on you.

 

Chandeliers

Crystal chandeliers. Get after it.

69 Responses to “Get the foods like Jagger! Be the first to try Nellcôte.”

  1. Chicagostyle Twitter Says:

    I retweeted too! @chicagostyle
    You can’t always get what you want! But if you try sometime, you just might find, you get what you need.

  2. Melissa Says:

    “So get off the fence/It’s creasing your butt/Life is a party/Let’s get out and strut…
    You’re not the only one/With mixed emotions/You’re not the only ship/Adrift on this ocean…”

    The Rolling Stones, “Mixed Emotions”

    I picked Mixed Emotions because a) it was honestly my first exposure to the Rolling Stones, at least in a music video capacity. My first knowledge of Mick Jagger was him gyrating about in the most RIDICULOUS workout gear in this video, and Keith Richards already looked liked he was growing an entire dead rodent in his hair. But also b) “Mixed Emotions” just about sums up how I feel about going to this party. I don’t think I’m cool enough to go, either. But I’d sure like to try to be that cool, for sure. 🙂

  3. Fabs Says:

    There’s no time to lose, I heard her say

    Catch your dreams before they slip awayRuby Tuesday. I wanna be @paigeworthy’s proxy for @nellcote833′s VIP preview party! You can enter too: http://bit.ly/pw-nellcote”

  4. Jeff Says:

    Hi Paige. Send me Dead Flowers (or these tickets) by the mail and I won’t forget to put roses on your grave 😉  @jbar3000:twitter 

  5. Amber Says:

    “Wild horses couldn’t drag me away” from this event. Sounds rad! 

  6. Stockyardpalate Says:

    I’ll never be your beast of burden… I walk for miles, my feet are hurtin. All I want is for you to make love to me.

  7. Beth Grant Says:

    And time waits for no one, and it won’t wait for me.
    And time waits for no one, and it won’t wait for me.

    (Be there or be square and don’t be late!)

  8. Tatiana Abramova Says:

    Childhood living is easy to do
    The things you wanted, I bought them for you
    Graceless lady, you know who I amYou know
    I can’t let you slide through my hands 

    Facebook and Twitter alerted! PICK ME!

  9. meghan Says:

    This doesn’t happen to me every day (getting a preview dinner) let’s spend the night together now, Nellcote. 

  10. Todd Says:

    Give me little drink from your loving cup! Just one drink and I’ll fall down drunk.

  11. Lauren Says:

    Let’s Spend the Night Together, now I need you more than ever

  12. Joe Says:

    We got nothing to eat
    We go nowhere to work
    Nothing to drink
    We just lost our shirt

  13. Allison Says:

    Bit off more than I can chew and I knew what it was leading to/ 
    Some things, well, I can’t refuse

  14. Badresa Says:

    from If you need me, 

    “I’ll be there, Right there,where I belong” so you wouldn’t have to be angry at me for flaking Paige.   

  15. Anonymous Says:

    Lyrics from “Mother’s Little Helper”, butchered without apology.

    “Life’s just much too hard today,”
    I hear ev’ry foodie say
    The pursuit of perfect dinner seems a bore
    And then you go to Nellcôte, you’re removed from the rote
    No more running for the shelter of a boring little helper
    Nellcôte helped you on your way, through your busy busy day

    Waiter please, some more of these
    Inside the door, she drank four more
    What a drag it is getting drunk

  16. Lisa P Says:

    Will you, will you, will you be my lover tonight?….I’ve been waiting such a long long time
    To here you say that you’ll be mine…

    (Who needs another lover if Nellcôte will be mine?)

  17. ItsToni Says:

    “Ah, brown sugar, how come you taste so good…”

  18. ItsToni Says:

     https://twitter.com/#!/ItsToni/statuses/173017601755193345
    Tweet tweet! 🙂
    Thanks for the opportunity!

  19. Leah Says:

    “Things are different today”
    I hear ev’ry mother say
    Cooking fresh food for a husband’s just a drag
    So she buys an instant cake and she burns her frozen steak
    And goes running for the shelter of a mother’s little helper
    And two help her on her way, get her through her busy day
    Mother’s Little Helper Lyricshttps://twitter.com/#!/Leah15176

  20. LZaner Says:

    Put me out
    With no shoes on my feet
    But, put me out, put me out
    Put me out of my misery

    I’m just dying to go!
    Cheers 🙂

  21. Vanessa Mendicino Says:

    “Well luck is expensive and freedom comes cheap

    When love’s on the menu, I don’t drink so deep

    Well I was just out there to have me some fun

    But it’s easier said than done”

    You are great for doing this, Paige!

  22. DancingDavidE Says:

    I’m a cold Italian pizza

  23. Gregory Carter Says:

    I guess the Best Rolling stone Lyric’s to decscribe me is from the Sone “I’m Free”

    I’m free to do what I want any old timeI’m free to do what I want any old timeSo love me, hold me, love me, hold meI’m free any old time to get what I wantI’m free to sing my song though it gets out of timeI’m free to sing my song though it gets out of timeSo love me, hold me, love me, hold meAnd I’m free any old time to get what I wantLove me, hold me, love me, hold me

  24. Steve Stearns Says:

    Tiiiiime is not on my side…  No it’s not…  Already got plans that evening 😦

  25. Slothluvrxoxo Says:

    You will be mine, mine, mine, mine, mine, all mine
    You could be mine, could be mine
    Be mine, all mine

  26. Lisa Says:

    “2120 South Michigan Avenue” is an original instrumental by the Rolling Stones recorded for their second album Five for Five. 

    So, I think this is an important legacy of Chess/Checker Studio…and Nellcote will become a classic like any Stone’s song.

    I’m just waiting on a friend

  27. Miche1887 Says:

    You can’t always get what you want.. But if you try sometimes you get what you need .. So I’m trying here as hoping to get the tickets!

  28. Fresh and Foodie Says:

    FOODS LIKE JAGGER! Oh my god, I’m losing it over here.

    If you’re choosing the winner based on their lyric suggestion, I’m going with: “I can’t seem to drink you off my mind.”

    If you’re choosing the winner based on randomness, I’m going with: “I laid a divorcee in New York City.”

  29. Anonymous Says:

    My love will laugh with me before the morning comes, I look inside myself and see my heart is black ,I see my red door and it has been painted BLACK! It’s my birthday that day! I’m super fun! Pick me! Pick me please! “Call me the tumblin’ dice! I wanna be @paigeworthy’s proxy for
    @nellcote833′s VIP preview party! You can enter too:
    http://bit.ly/pw-nellcote”

  30. Anonymous Says:

    My obsession are
    Your possession
    Are you smiling on my way
    My obsession are
    Your possession
    One that you should give away
    Give it to me now I’ve no objection

    From “My Obsession”

  31. Rachel Says:

    French girls they want CartierItalian girls want carsAmerican girls want everything in the worldYou can possibly imagineThis American girl wants tickets to this event!

  32. Tamara Hester Says:

    “Pleased to meet you,
    Hope you guess my name, oh yeah…” — ‘Sympathy for the Devil”
     
    … although, I’m no devil, it’s what I’d hope to say to you when we first meet at the dinner table at Nellcote!

  33. Rebecca Skoch Says:

    My sister-in-law and I would just die to go, but  she’ll “be in Joshua
    Tree with Keith and Anita, drying out,” and must live, hopefully,
    vicariously through me.  So: “No good, can’t speak, wound up, no
    sleep”– just waiting to see if I get tickets.

  34. Edgarb Says:

    Don’t want to be your best of burden…

  35. Ceceliapikul Says:

    I always get my rocks off while I’m sleeping …. And eating at nellcote! I’m your plus one!!!!

  36. TED! Says:

    “Always took candy from strangers” . . . sounds about right.

  37. Dave Suvada Says:

    “Catch your dreams before they slip away”. It sounds like Van Kamp caught his!

  38. Mitzi Lawrence Schwabe Says:

    “She blew my nose and then she blew my mind.”

    I’m sure this refers the the mind blowing effectiveness of a neti pot, right?

  39. Genie Says:

    I know I’ve dreamed you a sin and a lie
    I have my freedom but I don’t have much time
    Faith has been broken tears must be cried
    Let’s do some living after we die
    Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away
    Wild wild horses we’ll ride them someday
    Wild horses, couldn’t drag me away
    Wild wild horses we’ll ride them someday

  40. Alessia Says:

    “Gimme shelter” from the Chicago cold with a preview of Nellcote! I used to work at Old Town Social and am dying to check out their latest place!

  41. Dallas H. Says:

    Because of course I want to spend the night with Nellcote.

    Let’s spend the night togetherNow I need you more than everYou know I’m smiling babyYou need some guiding babyNow I need you more than everLet’s spend the night togetherLet’s spend the night together now

  42. ItsToni Says:

     Thank you, thank you, thank you!! *jumping around – doing running man* 🙂

  43. Brunch is on Premise this weekend…if you help rename Sunday Funday. — Paige Worthy Says:

    […] with my Nellcote giveaway back in February, there are but three eligibility […]

  44. Thursday Therapy–October Says:

    […]    Source […]

Leave a Reply

